My Rotten Redheaded Older Brother, By: Patricia Polacco

This is one of the most realistic ‘stories’ I have read.  To think that most children with older siblings have undoubtedly had to deal with these types of events and feelings.  The pictures on the inside cover of Richie and mom and me are an interesting intro to this book.  Next, the illustrations are comical yet very appropriate for this story.  I always look at the pictures of most short books to try and determine what the story is about.  I would not have predicted some of the story but I would have been close in other areas.  Richie is the typical brother and the way Bubbie relates to the children is both touching and natural.  The ending is wonderful in that most siblings arrive at this conclusion at some point in their life.  Another thing I like is the story is not “musshy.”

Leave a comment